It's half term

It's already half term here! That maybe seem strange to some of you. An acadamic year at the University of Oxford consists of three terms (Michaelmas, Hilary and Trinity) which are named after religious festivals. Each of those terms lasts for eight weeks. The Michaelmas term lasts until the 2nd of December.

 

The first part of my internship I worked at the Sainsbury Library. As you might already know from previous blogposts this library is part of the Said Business School. In this post I want to give you an insight in my work there.

 

Processing reading lists

I helped Sarah (my supervisor and collections and materials manager) with processing some reading lists. So, the tutors create a list with articles, chapters or books for their students to read during the term. To make it easier for students, the library provides links to all the readings, so the students can get directly to the full text, a scanned chapter or a link to the library catalogue.

 

Learning about business databases

There were some database training sessions which were very interesting. There are lots of different business databases which often cover very similar data but there are some differences and that makes it difficult to decide which database you should use for a research question. Through my apprenticeship in Switzerland I am already familiar with databases like Factiva but I didn't know much about the business ones.

 

Book processing

First I processed new books or donated books in Aleph. After that I continued with the physical processing. So I put a sticker in the book, stamped the book, printed the shelf mark and tagged the book.

 

Eureka reviews

Editing reviews
Editing reviews

 

Eureka is the Oxford Saïd Repository (an open access digital archive) where academics and research staff deposit their work. This can be either an electronic copy or the link to the publishers website - depending on the copyright provisions. Before these publications are made available to the public, the library staff checks every review and also if it is allowed to provide an electronic copy.

 

... of course I also had other tasks like weeding or reshelving ...

 

 

Apart from that we also visited the Wycliffe college library - which I quite enjoyed. It is always interesting to sneak around in other libraries ;)

 

I am looking forward to seeing other libraries here and the next trainee session which will be a tour in the BSF (the Bodleian storage facility) in Swindon.

by Anne

Write a comment

Comments: 0