The end of an amazing time

The studens are gone the books come back
The studens are gone the books come back

I wrote those sentence over 3 months ago but I didn't post it here. I don't now what was the reason that I forgot it but I think it's definitely time to give you guys, who read our starter blog, a deserve Goodbye. So enjoy the last little text from me.

 

Two days left and then I’ll go back home. Crazy how quick this 4 months were going. I am sitting on the information desk and thinking about my whole time here in the UK. When I look back at this period of my life, I feel so thankful for all the nice people they give me this opportunity to stay here. Since my beginning day a lot different things happened and I got a lot of very interesting experience. I mean who else see so many different college libraries, work in a college Library, go to trainee sessions and do sightseeing and all of this in just 4 months. So I am glad and very thankful to be one of those few people.

 

In the last four weeks I was very busy and had a lot to do. At work and of course the few last sightseeing trips. When the Michael term was over in the first week of december, most of the students left the college and bring their books back to the library. The thing is when more than 600 Students give their books back the book drop and 4 of 6 trolleys get overload. The result you have plenty to do just to return, order and shelf them. A good thing was I didn’t have to stress. I took my time, did pile for pile and when I needed a brake of it, I had enough other things to do.

 

I was very excited about my last bigger project called the “McGowan Books Collection”. This books are lend to the library to store and take care of them. At the moment the books are in the old library but we want to move them to the staff authorized rolling stacks. To figure out how much space they need we measured them. After this we did little book moving in the rolling stacks and start to transport the McGowan books to the office in the Longwall library. Then I go through them and if they are catalogued then I put a little slip with the shelf mark in and shelf them. If not I give I to an assistance librarian and he will catalogue it first. This Collection is very precious so we have to be very careful.

 

 Also the other libraries have during the vacation more time so they invite other Librarians for a tour. So I visited the All Souls College, St. Anthony’s College, Education Library and the Oxford Union Library. My Team and I did also a trip to Eton College the most popular posh school for Boys. Those trips were very exciting and interesting. It also gave me the opportunity to see, how the differences between the libraries in the UK are.

 

A big subject was of course Christmas time. I started to decorate our Christmas tree in the last week of november before the students left. But what I want to say also the students did an amazing job with their little own master pieces decoration for the Christmas tree. 

 

And the last thing I've never did bevor i joined in the Bodleian Libraries Christmas choir. So i learned some Christmas song i never heard bevor or I new the melody but the lyrics just in german. Of course we had several concerts but i will always remember the finally one in the divinity school. This was just amazing.

 

Goodbye Anny

 

 

 

 

Eton College